July 13 - 20 2024
Søndergaard – Lillienskjold Kvartet (DK) - Photo: Hantwerk

Photo: Hantwerk

Søndergaard – Lillienskjold Kvartet (DK)


Jens Søndergaard (a-sax), Lars von Lillienskjold (bar-sax), Niels Wilhelm Knudsen (b), Espen Laub von Lillienskjold (drm)

Two Generations Play Mulligan

Søndergaard – Lillienskjold Quartet takes up the legacy of baritone saxophonist Gerry Mulligan's Quartet under the motto Two Generations Play Mulligan.

Thematically, the music is close to the original material, which the quartet thinks is merited. But each individual musician contributes to the overall result with their experience from all sorts of other musical constellations over the years.

About the music: The year is 1952. Gerry Mulligan creates his legendary piano-less quartet. The line-up of two wind players (baritone sax and trumpet) and two rhythm players (double bass and drums) allows for a completely new form of ensemble playing where melody, contrapuntal lines, collective improvisation, spontaneity, strong rhythm, and musical transparency become the hallmarks.

A new direction in swinging West Coast jazz was born, and most of the quartet's tunes – Line for Lyons, Walkin' Shoes, Limelite, Turnstile, Festive Minor, etc. – were composed and arranged by Gerry Mulligan.


91 25 62 57
Cover charge 50 DKK

Aarhus Jazz Festival

Godsbanen, Skovgaardsgade 3

DK-8000 Aarhus C