Aarhus Jazz Orchestra: The music of Quincy, Count & Duke (DK)


Aarhus Jazz Orchestra: The music of Quincy, Count & Duke (DK)

Aarhus Jazz Orchestra

A tribute to the icons Duke Ellington, Count Basie, and Quincy Jones

This Sommerjazz in Aarhus, Aarhus Jazz Orchestra will be performing three shows in the foyer of Musikhuset. The third concert will pay tribute to three of the greats of big band history: Duke Ellington, Count Basie, and Quincy Jones

Aarhus Jazz Orchestra will be given ample opportunity to unfold in energetic ensembles and solos as old classics are reimagined. The repertoire includes tunes such as Moanin', Caravan, and Strike Up the Band.

Aarhus Jazz Orchestra was founded in 1977 by Jens Klüver under the name Bred Ymer and later renamed to Klüvers Big Band – a name that most Danish jazz lovers will recognize. Led by Jens Klüver, the band developed from an amateur big band to one of the most important big bands on the Scandinavian jazz scene.

In 2012, the band changed its name to Aarhus Jazz Orchestra and have expanded in scope and ambition. Now, the band is an open and collaborative cultural institution that drives an engaging and active musical culture through its concerts, teaching, and talent development programs that span across genres as well as regions.

For the last 30 years, Aarhus Jazz Orchestra has made Ridehuset swing with music, food, and a sense of community in the hopes of introducing jazz music to the broader masses.

In 2020, Aarhus Jazz Festival, including Ridehuset Swings, has unfortunately been canceled. Therefore, the foyer at Musikhuset will be the new venue for the jazz band to swing at.

Event information
The concert takes place in the foyer of Musikhuset for a seated audience. The maximum capacity is 330, ensuring sufficient space between audiences. Groups are allowed to sit together. The concert will be held in compliance with all regulations for the safety and wellbeing of our audience.




17:00 - 18:30
Cover charge Kr. 50
Billetten kan på dagen ombyttes til en øl eller vand i baren.


Musikhuset Aarhus
Thomas Jensens Allé 2
DK-8000 Aarhus C
(+45) 89 40 40 40


Musikhuset Aarhus
(+45) 89 40 90 00
Aarhus Jazz Orchestra

  • Aarhus Jazz Orchestra: The music of Quincy, Count & Duke