July 13 - 20 2024

Human Being Human (DK) - Photo: VinDanmark

Photo: VinDanmark

Human Being Human (DK)


Torben Bjørnskov (b) Esben Tjalve (p) Frederik Bülow (drm)

Jazz Piano Tradition with Surprises, Energy, and Improvisation

The group Human Being Human consists of bassist Torben Bjørnskov, pianist Esben Tjalve, and drummer Frederik Bülow. As musicians, they all have impressive international careers and have shared the stage with renowned artists from all over the world.

With the jazz piano tradition at its core, the sound of Human Being Human is full of surprises and possibilities. Passages of timeless openness, energetic virtuoso improvisation, and driving syncopated riffs intertwine with influences ranging from Bach's counterpoint to electronica and ambient music. Thought-provoking, complex compositions act as the engine through which the ensemble can explore their collective musicality.

Danish group Human Being Human is a piano trio with a name that is as much a question as a statement, as bassist and composer Torben Bjørnskov asks what it means to be human. Released on 17 June on April Records, Equals brings together three musicians who musically reflect on our need to share love and empathy.

The three musicians' distinctly different backgrounds, ages, and musical identities contribute to Equals' incredibly rich sound. Bjørnskov comes from the tradition of melodic Danish double bassists, pianist Esben Tjalve is a modern musician now based in London's growing jazz scene, while drummer Frederik Bülow belongs to the new Nordic jazz generation, complete with rhythmic finesse and crossover grooves. What unites them is a mutual respect for the melodic and melancholic tone associated with Scandinavian jazz.


91 25 25 31
Cover charge 150 DKK

Aarhus Jazz Festival

Godsbanen, Skovgaardsgade 3

DK-8000 Aarhus C