Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet (EE/DK)
Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet (EE/DK) foto galleri Concert photos
Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet - Photo: Dokk1

Foto: Dokk1

Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet (EE/DK)

Karmen Rõivassepp (voc), Simon Gorm Eskildsen (p), Adrian Christensen (b), Daniel Sommer (drm)

Captivating melodies and honest storytelling

When you first hear Estonian jazz singer and composer Karmen Rõivassepp, you know she's got something special.

Since moving to Denmark in 2012, Karmen Rõivassepp has built a fast-growing audience based on the Aarhus jazz scene. More and more people outside East Jutland are waking up to her obvious talent these years. During Copenhagen Jazz Festival 2021, she played a major concert at the Royal Library. She has also performed with DR Big Band and Aarhus Jazz Orchestra.

Rõivassepp is characterized by her almost instrument-like way of singing, pure sound, and her always playful nature.

Together with the dazzling young musicians Simon Gorm Eskildsen (p), Adrian Christensen (b), and Daniel Sommer (drm), she has formed a quartet that interprets her original music with occasional glimpses of the great world of jazz standards.

The band navigates a universe of modern jazz, inviting the listener into a world of sincere joy, tranquility, melancholy, and devoted pain through compelling melodies and honest storytelling.

"The bandleader's vocals are striking in their purity, her range and her pitching impressive. And she's harmonically inventive when decorating melodies with intricate, scat-sung phrases [...]."
Thomas Rees, Downbeat Magazine (2018).

"Rõivassepp seems to belong to the category of singers who regard the voice as an instrument in itself. Her treatment of each note is exquisite, and she performs convincingly with promises of more to come."
Jakob Hassing, Jazz Special (2018).


Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet (EE/DK)


Cover charge 160 DKK

Forsalget starter 1. maj.


Hack Kampmanns Plads 2
8000 Aarhus


(+45) 41 85 66 37
Aarhus Jazzfestival
Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet (EE/DK)


Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet - Photo: Dokk1 Foto: Dokk1