Århus Sinfonietta - Nye spor (DK)


Århus Sinfonietta - Nye spor (DK)

Niels-Ole Bo Johansen (trb), Erik Kaltolft (p), Frederik Munk Larsen (g), Henrik Knarborg Larsen (perc)

Finger snapping, sharp accordions, and a red balloon

As part of the New Directions series, four members of Århus Sinfonietta and Aarhus Jazz Festival explore the encounter of experimental jazz and modern musical compositions.

At the concert, audiences will be treated to the premiere of two new pieces for the trombone, percussions, guitar, and piano by Julie Kjær and Lil Lacy. Additionally, there will be renditions of Hungarian Rock by György Ligeti and Scratch by Rolf Walli, as well as two earlier New Directions tunes by Gorm Askjær, SNAP! and Swinging.

As a musician, Julie Kjær s famous for her raw, edgy, and contemplative style, as well as 'dark, otherworldly imagery' (Jazzwise Magazine). Through the exploration of alternative playing styles, sounds, and rhythms, she pushes her brass instruments to their limits. As a composer, she experiments with writing for ensembles with unusual instrumentations. For instance, one of her most recent pieces was written for four double basses and a bass clarinet, which was commissioned by the London-based concert and festival organisation LUME.

In the spring of 2017, she composed This Is Where You See Me for the prestigious Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival and the Danish festival G((o))ng Tomorrow.

Composer and musician Lil Lacy has sharpened her curiosity for both improvised and composed music through the development of and participation in a long line of music projects. She is a permanent member of the Valby Vokalgruppe and the duo Soma & Lil. What the constellations have in common, is their work with choreographic, visual, and musical elements in one way or another.

In 2017, the short film Soma & Lil (directed by Nicolas Iordanou & Sylvia Nicolaides) won the award for Best Short Documentary at the Ishinomaki International Film Festival in Japan. 

Since their formation in 1990, Århus Sinfonietta has been a cornerstone in modern Danish composed music. Throughout the last 28 years, Århus Sinfonietta has focused on playing the newest compositional music at the highest level. This includes the first notes of young composers as well as the latest pieces by experienced and established composers. Århus Sinfonietta values premieres as well as revivals of rare avant-garde classics.

New Directions is a collaboration between Aarhus Jazz Festival, AUT - Aarhus Unge Tonekunstnere, and Århus Sinfonietta. New Directions is supported by Augustinus Fonden, Toyota-Fonden, Knud Højgaards Fond og Koda Kultur.




15:00 - 16:00
Cover charge Kr. 70
50 kr. for medlemmer af AUT.
Billetsalg ved døren fra kl. 14:00. Koncert med forsalg.


Hotel Carmel
Klosterport 6
8000 Aarhus C


Århus Sinfonietta
(+45) 30 24 77 00

  • Århus Sinfonietta - Nye spor
  • Århus Sinfonietta - Nye spor